And here’s what you missed….

Clearly, I’ve been pretty bad at this “I promise to write once a week” thing…I guess we all knew it would inevitably slide at one point or another. But don’t fret! I’m back and ready to write (or…at least I hope so). Usually, I’m just sitting at an empty desk with writers’ block and a cup-o-tea, but nooo. My work load wasn’t just handed in a big, large, mountain-like pile. This mountain of work was thrown at my face and I had to pick it all up before I could start any of it. Long story short…I’ve just been really, really busy. And with what, you might ask? Well….let me sum up the last month or so:

  1. I tried this new thing called ‘exercise’ for about two weeks. Then I stopped.
  2. My internet died about 100 times each week, preventing me from watching oh-so-important YouTube videos and procrastinating on Tumblr. It was so  inconvenient. I actually had to get work done. Ugh. #arielproblems
  3. I learned about truth tables in my Advanced Integrated Math class (which, by the way, apparently consists of every math topic from trigonometry to calculus–yes…I’m confused, too). I fondly remember one class period about three weeks ago in which one girl literally asked, “”If true, then false, is false. If true, then true, is true, but only if false is–wait no, I messed it up. So wait. If true, then false, then false, then true, but only true if false, then false, then true and so forth. No…wait. If true then false then–“–you get the idea.
  4. My little sister retweeted a retweet of her own tweet on Twitter. I didn’t even know it was possible.
  5. I took my dog for a run around the block. He got tired after about ten minutes and we had to get the car to pick him up. Learning that my dog is lazier than I am made me feel better about how fit I’m not (note the wording here…).
  6. Sarah Dessen visited my school while I was in math class and I missed her. Worst. Day. Ever.
  7. My lab partner and I were working on a triage lab and we got to the last patient (and by this point we had run out of supplies) and decided to cure him with, and I quote, “agua and chocolate.” Please, please, please, please don’t ever, ever, ever try to recruit me as a doctor.
  8. I was sick for a day and apparently missed more than a day’s worth of assignments. It always happens to me.
  9. I completed my first official portfolio piece for IB Studio Art entitled ‘Solstice’.
  10. I wrote multiple essays, read a bunch of poems, and did about three biology labs in less than a week. That was fun. Meanwhile, I caught up on quizzes and tests that I missed while I had been sick.
  11. I started watching Gossip Girl.
  12. And then I learned that Penn Badgley is from Tacoma, Washington. TACOMA. AS IN 40 MINS OUTSIDE OF SEATTLE ON A GOOD DAY TACOMA.
  13. I had an epiphany at about 6pm one evening and decided to run as a ‘write-in’ candidate (i.e. not an official candidate) and probably scared the crap out of the people running (um if you’re reading this, I really only did it spur of the moment and don’t hate me because you’re both really great candidates–I just got really excited all of a sudden and then people supported me and I don’t do well under too much excitement).
  14. I ordered a 10 foot long iPhone charging cable because my phone won’t reach my bed and that is a problem. Why? Because I really, really like my Sleep Cycle app.
  15. I tweeted (jokingly) about a company’s product in which you type…words (hint) and they replied. They were really concerned, too.
  16. Someone started complaining to me about their Prada purse and I don’t usually mind seeing people dressed up in Kate Spade apparel, holding their Prada purse, with their Coach shoes. BUT EVERYONE STOP FOR A MINUTE BECAUSE I CAN’T AFFORD THE LITTLE PAPER WRAPPING THEY PUT AROUND GIFT CARDS FOR PRADA SO PLEASE REFRAIN FROM COMPLAINING.
  17. Had a weekend-long choir workshop with composer Stephen Hatfield. Then I lost my voice for three days.
  18. The new employee at my orthodontist is actually Leonardo DiCaprio’s doppelgänger.
  19. I sat in the orthodontist’s office for an hour until they remembered I was there and decided it was about time to actually conduct my appointment.
  20. I spent an entire day crying because I missed We Day Seattle. I also spent this day glued to my laptop watching the podcast of the We Day presentations. It was truly inspirational.
  21. I read Shakespeare’s As You Like It, which I loved–I really did.  First of all, it was my very first Shakespeare play (*gasp*–I know). It was really great until…SPOILER….Orlando and Oliver suddenly and magically have a third brother about four pages from the end. Okay, seriously Shakespeare? I know you’re super famous and everything….but that really doesn’t give you the right to just throw a character at me at the last minute. This brother’s name was Jacques, who was not to be confused with Jacques from every other scene in the drama. Second problem: in the last act, Shakespeare added another character. His name was Hymen. Enough said. 

Yes. So. I’ve been a little busy. But hey….I’m back. Love you all.

One thought on “And here’s what you missed….

Questions or Comments?

